Delta State

Delta communities sign pact to end boundary dispute

Download the Assessment Poll App today on Google Play Store.

Leaderships of the feuding Aladja and Ogbe-Ijoh communities in Delta State have signed a pact to maintain peace and security henceforth just as the Commanding Officer, 3 Battalion of the Nigerian Army in Effurun waded into the lingering boundary crisis.

The PUNCH gathered that the intervention of the military in the boundary dispute had culminated in the leadership of the two communities and other stakeholders holding a peace parley on Saturday at the Government House Annex at Edjeba in Warri.

One person was confirmed dead on Friday as the inter-communal dispute over boundary demarcation between the neighbouring Aladja and Ogbe-Ijoh communities of Udu and Warri South-West Local Government Areas took a dangerous twist.

Community sources, however, claimed that two deaths were recorded in the early morning shooting spree which threw the entire residents of Ogbe-Ijoh into pandemonium.

During Saturday’s peace meeting, representatives of the two communities were reportedly given the opportunities to express their grievances, at the end of which it was made clear to them that there was the need to discard all animosities and agree to a truce which they obliged.

Consequently, in the pact signed at the end of the meeting, copies of which were sighted by journalists, the leadership of the warring Aladja and Ogbe-Ijoh communities resolved that peace should be maintained henceforth by both communities as they stressed that “henceforth, the two communities will no longer attack each other over disputed land and that should any breach of peace occur, the persons found to be involved would be dealt with squarely.”

The peace pact noted that even though the general security situation in Aladja and Ogbe-Ijoh communities remains relatively calm but unpredictable, “consequently, troops of Operation Delta Hawk will continue to dominate the area with patrols and show of force in conjunction with other security agencies to forestall any threat to the fragile peace.”

Three representatives from the respective community who signed the peace pact for the Aladja community are Chief C.C.I. Whiliky, Shell Godfirst and Chief Ottoogbiru Vetah, while Chief Anthony Jolomi, Denbota Oweikpodor and Chief Lucky Oromoni signed for the Ogbe-Ijoh community.


Similar Posts