Algeria friendly: Onyedika in, Aribo out

Download the Assessment Poll App today on Google Play Store.

Super Eagles coach, Jose Peseiro, has called up uncapped Club Brugge midfielder Richard Onyedika for this month’s international friendly against Algeria in Oran, PUNCH Sports Extra reports.

The game billed for the Miloud-Hadefi Olympic Stadium in Oran on September 27.

The 21-year-old has been in fantastic form for Belgian Pro League champions, Club Brugge since joining from FC Midtylland this summer on a five-year deal and has featured prominently for the Club Brugge since then.

He was in full action as Club Brugge defeated FC Porto in the UEFA Champions League last Tuesday.

Keeper Maduka Okoye and defenders Kevin Akpoguma, Chidozie Awaziem as well as forwards Kelechi Iheanacho, Henry Onyekuru, Taiwo Awoniyi and Chidera Ejuke are recalled for the Eagles penultimate friendly of the year.

Midfielder Joe Aribo, Oghenekaro Etebo miss out while the duo Victor Osimhen, Umar Sadiq are not involved because of injury while the likes of goalkeepers Francis Uzoho and Maduka Okoye, defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Chidozie Awaziem and Calvin Bassey, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Alex Iwobi, and forwards Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Taiwo Awoniyi and Cyriel Dessers are called.

Super Eagles captain, Ahmed Musa and his deputy William Troost-Ekong are also included despite the duo seeing 208 and 97 minutes of action this season for their respective teams.

The invited players expected to arrive the Eagles camp in the city of Constantine on Monday, September 19.

The Eagles are aiming for their third win under Peseiro after victory over Sierra Leone and Sao Tome and Principe in June.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Maduka Okoye, Adeleye Adebayo

Defenders: William Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Chidozie Awaziem, Olaoluwa Aina, Calvin Bassey, Zaidu Sanusi, Kevin Akpoguma, Leon Balogun

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, Alex Iwobi, Richard Onyedika

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Ademola Lookman, Henry Onyekuru, Taiwo Awoniyi, Chidera Ejuke, Cyriel Dessers, Terem Moffi


Similar Posts